Uncategorized

Officially a Teacher.

Image

 

Today, I’ve decided to write a post that’s a little different to my usual beauty stuff because I wanted to talk about my new job! I have now done two full weeks in school and it has taken a while for me to settle in but on Friday I woke up and finally felt like a real teacher! It sounds a bit bizarre but because I have been a student for so long, it has taken me a while to realise that I’m now the one in charge and it’s me who is responsible for the children’s learning. Being in a new school means that I still have to ask a lot of questions about where things are and what I should be doing and when. I am getting my head around the school’s routines and slowly but surely, the classroom is beginning to feel like my own. 

 

I have to say that training to be a teacher does in no way, prepare you for the real thing! There is a lot more that goes on behind the scenes than I could ever imagine and my ‘To Do’ list is never-ending. There are initial assessments of the children to be completed, phonics assessments, key word tests, newsletters to write, reading books to sort out, displays to create, planning to submit – all sorts of things that I have never done before!! My plan is just to take it each day at a time and see how I go!! Luckily the school are really supportive and understand that as an NQT (newly qualified teacher) lots of things will be new to me. 

 

This week I am really excited about some of the activities I am going to be doing with the children. I teach Reception (4-5 year olds) and this term the topic is Ourselves. We have looked at our body and the way we move and this week I am focusing on our senses and things we enjoy doing. We are going to go on a sound walk around school, have a tasting session of some new foods and make a hands and feet painting to be hung in the classroom. I also have some bottle of different smells for the children to identify. I think this week is going to be a great one and I can’t wait to get stuck in and see if the children enjoy it!  

 

I have a new app on my iPad called Rhonna and it is great for adding embellishments to your photos or for creating a completely new image. I made the one above and layered lots of inspirational quotes that will help me through this first term. So when I get a little stressed out, or things get tough at school, I can look at it and hopefully it will remind me that all the hard work will be worth it!!

 

Tonight I am going to a wedding so hopefully I will be able to get a snap of my make up for the evening. I am always looking for inspiration for my future posts so please get in touch and let me know how I’m doing/ things you would like to see on my blog!

 

All the best, 

Ti Amo x 

One thought on “Officially a Teacher.

Comment!

