Uncategorized

Time to diet.

I have always struggled to understand this obsession with dieting. There is a horrible viewpoint that thin is attractive and anything else isn’t. I have never been on a crash diet and can’t imagine living my life where I constantly watch what I eat. However, I do also recognise that there is an overgrowing problem with obesity and know that being overweight carries certain health risks. I am naturally a curvy girl and have to admit that I like my food. I am a healthy size 14 but have recently began to creep up to a 16 and so I decided, for the first time in my life, to go on a diet, more for health reasons that cosmetic. I do eat quite healthily but my problem is portion size and knowing when to stop eating and so I decided to join weight watchers with my mum as it gives you points and when they are gone, you can’t eat anything else!

Yesterday was my first meeting and I have to admit that I was very nervous about being weighed because I never get on the scales. I am heavier than I thought I would be and although I was disappointed, it highlighted just how seriously I need to take this diet. I don’t want to lose lots and become a skinny size 10 – that just isn’t me, but I do want to get back to a weight that is healthy for my height and build and know that I won’t need to worry about developing any health problems.

I managed to stick to my plan quite easily yesterday and wasn’t feeling that hungry, however this week is half term and I know I will probably find it difficult to avoid snacking throughout the day. I decided to track my progress on my blog as a way of keeping myself motivated throughout this process!

*I have to just say that I am not encouraging anybody to lose weight by writing this post. This is a personal experience and I firmly believe that everyone is beautiful no matter what their size. I am merely taking preliminary action to avoid possible future issues with my health.

Image

Wish me luck!

Ti Amo x

5 thoughts on “Time to diet.

  1. Good luck I know its hard to take that first step , weight watchers is a good way to track what you eat, keep an eye on the ww forum it’s a good site for information

  2. I lost about 7 kgs over the past 2-3 months and I’m still going. The best way to go about it (what I did) was to have a normal breakfast (cereal), a biggish lunch (normally cooked, so like pasta&sauce, a curry, roast chicken, pie, whatever) and a tiny tiny dinner (I had fruits basicallyl). And of course exercise, even if you burn about 200 calories a day (less than 30mins on a cross trainer or treadmill) it still makes a difference. I still eat quite badly but exercise has made my life so much better, I can’t even begin to explain! Good luck, and I wish you all the best for your diet!

    http://colourmeniki.com
    Twitter/Instagram : @colourmeniki

  3. Thanks so much for the positive comments! I have found today a little harder and found myself wanting to rummage around for a snack a few times today but reading your comments just gave me the boost I needed! Thank you 🙂 x

Comment!

