Uncategorized

Ebay Make up brush Review.

So this post has been requested by the lovely Chista from http://chistanote.wordpress.com. She has asked me to review the make up brushes I recently bought from Ebay. I should firstly explain that they only cost me £10.00 and although they claim to be MAC, I know they are fake. To see the post which explains this in more detail click here.

photo 3

 

I often browse Ebay in the hopes of finding some bargains and quite often I manage to pick up some great items for at least half of the retail price. Obviously you do have to be careful and do a lot of research before buying anything to avoid being conned, and that is exactly what I did with these brushes. Owning luxury and named brands is not important to me, but what is important is the quality of a product. I decided to purchase these brushes for various reasons, one being that they are made from goat hair which I know to be soft. Secondly, they were coming from Hong Kong where lots of companies have their factories, and so there was a good chance that these brushes were made in the same place or by the same skilled workers who make the brushes for luxury brands.

 

It does not take a genius to work out that these are not MAC as they claim to be. All I did was search for the brush number on googleimages and found that the real brushes look completely different. So I will not be comparing them to other MAC brushes but instead will review them standing alone.

photo 1 (1)

 

So this brush is number 134 and I use it to powder my face. It is super soft and the bristles are tightly packed together, which I really like because I can be more accurate with my face powder and prevent from settling all over my face if I don’t want it to. It’s big enough to do my whole face quickly which is great for my hurried mornings!

photo 4

 

This is brush 168 and I have to say it is really close to the actual MAC 168. This contouring brush can really help transform your look and it’s tapered edge is great for highlighting and defining cheekbones so I mainly use it to apply my blusher. The bristles are white which means the stain really easily but I quite like the pink dip dye effect it leaves! Again it’s really soft and seems durable and I can’t wait to try out some contouring techniques with it.

photo 2 (1)

 

This is number 187 and is quite far away from the real thing. It’s a stippling brush but there doesn’t seem to be enough bristles in the head making it not quite right for this purpose. You need stippling brushes to be quite sturdy and this seems flimsy in comparison. I haven’t tried it yet, but if I am honest, I doubt I will get much use out of it as I already have a great one I like to use.

photo 3 (1)

 

Brush 190. The foundation brush. This is one I am really impressed with. I honestly cannot tell the difference between this and the original MAC one I had. I should apologise for the fact I haven’t cleaned these brushed before taking the photographs but it really does look identical to the real thing. It is strong, durable and soft – my foundation just glides on when I use this!

photo 1 (2)

 

275 (angled shading brush) and 219 (pencil brush) These are both pretty close to the original MAC brushes and are great for creating different effects on your lids. The 275 is great for blending but the 219 seems a bit thicker than the real deal. This means I can’t use it in the crease of my lid like I would like to, but it’s still great for other things. I have been using it as a highlighting brush mostly. I am not disappointed with these at all and will get a lot of use out of them.

photo 2 (2)

212 – definer, 214 – short shader, 209 – eye liner, 266 – small angle and 231 – small shader.

These brushes are all obviously fakes and don’t match up to the real MAC brushes very well. HOWEVER, don’t rule them out! I have used every single brush and like them all. The all do the job I want (although I wouldn’t use the 209 for very thin lines) and are all durable, easy to clean and soft on my skin.

 

The handles of all the brushes seem sturdy and I expect them to last a long time. Overall, I am really impressed with the product and think it’s a real bargain for £10! I know I will be using these brushes for a long time and they fit into my collection nicely. Although I don’t agree that people should imitate companies and lie about who made them, they are on the whole a very good copy and would probably fool most people! I’m happy with the quality and will be purchasing something similar in the future I am sure. Again I would like to remind readers that buying from Ebay can be a risk and you can’t guarantee that all products will be of the same quality.

 

Thanks for reading,

Ti Amo x

 

 

One thought on “Ebay Make up brush Review.

Comment!

