beauty

Time for a Clear Out!

Occasionally, I wake up in the mood to just have a huge clear out and have a good look through everything and get rid of those things I haven’t worn/used for a long time ready to make room for my future purchases! It’s also a great way to rediscover products you haven’t noticed in a while and to change what appears in your everyday makeup bag. This is exactly what happened to me when I woke up this morning and within half an hour I was sat on my bedroom floor surrounded by the contents of my wardrobe! I wish Dec had been home to get a snap of me drowning in dresses, shoes and bags but he had to work today. I was able to get some pics when I started on my beauty drawers, and so this post was born! I was surprised by the amount of makeup I own, and also the amount that I don’t use! I managed to get rid of a lot of stuff that was really worn and used or just too old to be hygienic to continue using so now my collection is more manageable and much better organised!

Image

Image

So as you can see, I ended up much better organised and I know which products are where now. These little boxes I have collected go inside a set of drawers so they are neatly tucked away. In the future, I want to get a dressing table with a nice big mirror and then I can get some clear makeup storage sets so that all my beautiful products are on show! At the moment, I sit on the floor in the spare room and use a mirror which is propped up against the wall. I keep my hairbrushes and combs in a mug and my most used products are lined up on the floor. Not exactly glamorous!

Image

These are the eye shadow palettes I chose to keep. I am pleased to see that they are all high street brands, however I know that the room I have created for future purchases is likely to be filled with the luxury brands I currently I have my eye on! (I have made a wishlist of the palettes I want and will be posting it later on in the week).

Image

Image

And these were the lucky lip colours which stayed in my collection! I was shocked by the amount of lipsticks I actually own because I always seem to use the same few. I am really pleased with my rediscoveries. My 3 current favourite colours are not included in these pictures because they have a permanent home in my handbag! They are: MAC Creme Cup, MUA SHade 1 and Clinique Chubby Stick in Chunky Cherry.

And lastly, the products who made it into my everyday makeup bag…

Image

And now I feel much better and organised! I’m going to have to restrain myself next payday because I know I am going to want to fill up my little boxes again!

Happy Sunday!

Ti Amo x

7 thoughts on “Time for a Clear Out!

  1. Wow! Good for you! What a sense of relief to have everything organized—I know I always feel this weight lifted off my shoulders when I clean house! Great makeup stash by the way!😉

    • Thanks so much- it’s mostly high street stuff rather than luxury brands but I had let it get a little out of hand – I had been hoarding products over 3 years old!! I feel much better now it’s all organised and useable! X

  2. It’s such a great feeling to be all organised with your makeup routine in the morning isn’t. You are lucky you have a whole room to yourself for the task. Usually womens shelters really appreciate donations of un-used or hardly used beauty products (yup, even makeup) as well as tooth paste and anti-persperant of course.

    • You know that is something I have never thought of! The clothes I bagged up will go to a charity shop of course, but I never considered people might want my old makeup! I’m going to have a look through and see if anything is worth keeping 🙂 thanks for the tip!

      • Me neither until I saw a charity that makes over women for job/house renting interviews etc. Then spoke to a woman who’d fled with nothing and said doing make overs & manicures with the other girls made her feel human again. Men just don’t get it do they ;0)

Comment!

