beauty / shopping

Payday Haul.

I have indulged in some serious retail therapy this week and I have to confess that shopping really is my favourite thing to do- (I’m not sure it is appropriate to call it a hobby!) My bank card is feeling seriously tired at the moment but I can say that my heart has been warmed now I am the owner of some lovely new products!

First: Clothing.

Image

ย I love it when a new season hits and my favourite stores fill up with lots of new stock for me to lust over. New Look have a gorgeous spring collection and there were lots of things I had my eye on. I tried to remain sensible and practical and looked for items I knew I’m short of, so I bought 2 dresses for work and a new hoodie to help keep me warm when the in-between weather hits and I no longer want to wear my coat. It’s grey quilted with a chunky gold zip up the front which sounds rather chavvy, but I assure you, it looks rather nice over a floral dress or layered under my leather jacket.

The dresses are my usual style- dark in colour/ floral. I went for navy to shake things up a bit (my wardrobe is a sea of black, grey and maroon) and plan to wear them with thick tights and ankle boots for school. I particularly like the back detail on the navy dress and the girly collar on the floral.

Image

Image

Image

I also bought some joggers and a gorgeous heart print skirt from Tesco but they both need to be returned because they don’t fit very well (I have big hips and a smaller waist so some things just don’t sit right!) . Lastly, I bought 2 pairs of dolly shoes which I just adore and wear ALL the time. these are cornflower blue and daisy print- cute!

Second: Beauty.

Image

Now you all know that beauty products are my current vice and I did spend a small fortune (for my standards!) on makeup. First up was a trip to Boots who currently have a 3 for 2 offer on most makeup (excluding luxury brands). I purchased a Maybelline Cover Stick in Ivory to help cover those dark under eye circles and to use when I’m highlighting my face. ย The LO’Real Glam Shine lipgloss is in the shade Juicy Rose Glow and looks really nice over my MAC Creme Cup Lipstick. Lastly, I went for a nail corrector pen from Barry M – I have never tested one before but thought I could use it to tidy up the edges of my nails after painting them (no matter how hard I try, I always end up with polish on the skin around my nail bed!)

My two big purchases were two products I have been wanting to try for some time; Urban Decay’s Naked 3 (i’m presuming you have heard of this one!) and Chanel’s Sheer Illuminating Base.

ImageI have not yet found a primer I am 100% happy with and so after reading several RAVE reviews about this product (I think joanna@ joannaloves.com may just be it’s no 1 fan!) I decided to give it ago. I am really excited to try this out and I promise a review will be coming soon ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

Anybody who is even a little bit interested in the beauty world has anticipated the release of the third eye palette in the Naked generation from Urban Decay. I know I am little behind the hype, but being a Naked virgin (pun completely intended!) I wanted to read/ watch some reviews before I took the plunge with this one. I am already very much in love with this new addition to my make up routine and I haven’t even taken it for a trial run yet! It really does just ooze luxury and I can’t wait to create some looks to share with you all ๐Ÿ™‚

Last stop: The MAC counter.

Image

As I’ve heard many times that the quality of your tools really can transform the quality of your make up, I decided to invest in some new brushes. I went for stippling brush (187), eyeshadow brush (217), concealer brush (286), and blending brush (224).* I’m hoping for some fantastic results when I use these!

*The names I have given these brushes are not their actual names given by MAC, but what I intend to use them as in my own make up routine.

Image

I have been on the look-out for a new blusher for a little while now, I have never seemed to be able to find a shade I really love and that suits my skin tone well. With the help of the lovely artist at MAC I selected one of their mineralize blushes in the shade Dainty. I am hoping that this one may become my go -to blusher!

And that’s all folks! I don’t intend for this to be a ‘show off’ post in any way, but merely a chance for you to look at how I am gradually updating my make up bag and improving (hopefully!) my beauty techniques and routines! I’d love to hear your opinion on any of the products I have recently purchased and please feel free to leave links to any tutorials/looks you have created using them in the comment box below!

Goodbye for now,

Ti Amo x

4 thoughts on “Payday Haul.

Comment!

