beauty / Uncategorized

Little Things I’ve Learnt.

When I was getting ready for work this morning, I began to think about how differently I apply my makeup now than before I started blogging. Don’t get the wrong impression, I am by no means an expert and I still have A LOT to learn about the beauty world and how to turn myself into a goddess (I wish!) but there are lots of little tips I have picked up from reading different sites and watching various blogs. So really, I have to say thanks to you lot out there, because thanks to your insightful posts, I now know a lot more about how best to apply, store and use my makeup. My skincare routine has certainly evolved (although it still has flaws, but more about that another time!) and I generally look after my skin a lot more than I used to.
I thought I would gather all these little tips and tricks and create a post in the hope that some of you might learn something new too!

+ There is no point/ need to spend money on a luxury brand mascara.
I’m a nervous flyer and hate being in the airport waiting to get on a plane. When I was 18, I went on a trip to France, and to distract myself, I visited duty free and purchased my first ever high-end beauty item. Dior’s Iconic mascara in black. I fell in love and thought it was the best thing since sliced bread! Fast- forward 5 years and I’m still buying £25+ mascaras. I go through them really quickly and basically end up spending a small fortune each year. Recently, I needed an emergency waterproof mascara and grabbed one from Collection 2000. It was better than both the MAC and Clinique mascaras I am currently using. I did some research and it turns out a lot of you are saying the same thing- don’t waste your money on high end mascaras- they don’t actually do much more than a high street brand, and you go through them so quickly, it’s better to stay cheap and cheerful. HURRAY!

+ Contouring is probably the biggest word in the beauty world right now and rightly so- it can transform your face! I have found it’s a tricky thing to get used to and finding the right products to use can be a nightmare, but anything to make my nose seem smaller is a winner for me! I’ve watched tonnes of videos on how to contour and can never seem to produce the same results as the person on screen but I soon realised it didn’t matter. What I needed to do is find something that works for me. I’m not longer afraid on bronzer and I’m bolder with my blush, I use a lighter shade concealer and use a stippling blush to blend everything. Maybe I’m not contouring in the true sense of the word, but my makeup looks a lot better and I’ve created a technique that is manageable on a daily basis. Moral of the story? Take other people’s ideas and opinions and adapt them to suit your own needs.

+Tools really are the trick of the trade. Your brushes are better being high quality (that doesn’t necessarily mean expensive) because generally, the better the brush, the better the results. Don’t be afraid to stray away from the traditional use of the brush in hand- I often use an eyeshadow blending brush for concealer, a stippling brush for both foundation and blush , an eyeliner brush to highlight my brows and to line my lips. Basically, use them for whatever you want! Not just what the packet recommend. Another quick tip- it’s okay to sometimes use no brush at all- your fingers can be just as effective!

+You don’t have to spend lots of money to get great products, but at the same time, sometimes it is well worth investing in a high street brand. Let me explain… I used to think that the more expensive the product, the better it will be- but that happens to be a complete myth. Some of the cheapest products I own are the best I can get my hands on, for example, I LOVE My Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer (it’s by far the best I have used). I also only ever use a high street face powder and eyeliner because they really are good quality. However, it can sometimes be worth investing in something a little more expensive to find that product that is perfect for you. E.g my Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base (I have never found a more amazing base) and my MAC Mineralize Blusher ( it has just the right amount of shimmer). So, choose wisely and don’t be afraid to stick to a budget from time to time- you might discover some bargains!

I do realise that I have only actually written 4 tips, but I feel like I have waffled on for a rather long time! Please leave a comment below and let me know what you think about this post (I always appreciate honesty!) If feedback is good, I’ll do another post with some more tips I’ve learnt on my blogging journey so far!

Tata for now,
Ti Amo I

One thought on “Little Things I’ve Learnt.

Comment!

